“Nobody cared who I was until I put on the mask”

mask-poppies-field-red.jpg

Just how do I find myself relating to Batman(psssh , because I’m in love with him that’s why) . Batmans character is in many ways like mine, well except for … well that doesn’t matter.
He’s benevolent and  rarely shows it. He’s the good guy with a dark soul, and even darker mask. His mask reveals nothing but his eyes, his beautiful eyes.

Where am I going with this you’re probably asking. I too like him, put on a mask and consequently people started noticing me  more, a whole lot more.

What mask you ask?
Make up.

In more ways than one it is somehow. See I have this skin condition , known to most but rarely understood. Acne-Vulgaris ( acne) .

I used to hate how people would see me and start telling me about skin products or remedies that helped them. I’d appreciate the kindness but I hated how they’d see my condition and not me first.

I wore makeup which I must say , camouflages my spots. And now that I looked more “normal” my  confidence  levels were sky scraping. More so on those days when my outfit too was in ‘flick’ . My boyfriend too said it looked good, and that I was just as good without. I mean I believed him , since we met way before I started wearing this shit.

On the 3rd of February , I turned 19 and I came to realize that I’ve had acne for more than 8 years already. It’s been a burden in my entire teen life. Seeing that the condition wasn’t getting any better despite the amount of time and money I’ve put in. It just didn’t. Makeup , good  makeup is expensive

So what’s a jobless girl to do?

Lose the mask overall. I have decided to drop the mask as a whole. I knew I’d feel bare without it, but it’s just not worth it. I’d rather have those annual injections and medication for acne , otherwise people  like me, will learn to lIke what they see.
They didn’t. But, I couldn’t be less bothered because I do now, and that’s what matters.

I feel like we’re all just trying to fit in somehow and that’s good sometimes, but not if it changes who we are. I , unlike batman put on a mask and did less for others. I’d easily look down on another person with the  very same condition, just because I had a sip mask on. So seeing that I was betraying Batman. Things needed to  change.

😊
I’ve removed the mask and people still don’t care. Ask yourself do opinions matter? Could opinions kill you or raise you from the dead? No. Why care?

Leave a Reply

